New Year’s Resolutions: Why Wait?

As this year passes, I hate to make the cliche post about my resolutions. The point is not that I think New Year’s resolutions are unimportant in any way. Why should you wait until January 1st to set out and improve the way that you live your life? Every day should be treated with the utmost of importance. Every day that you are given is incredibly valuable.

The Grand Teton.

The life you are living is the only one you’re given. So live it today. Work so you can live. Don’t live to work. Make memories with the loved ones in your life every single chance that you get. You never know when you will be making your last with them… Surround yourself with people that share the same passions and values.

2011 has been everything that I could have wished for and more. There were so many adventures that I had no idea I would have the privilege of going on. These experiences were shared with some great friends, and people that I never thought I would be able to travel with. A special thanks to everyone (especially my parents and family!) that made 2011 such a special year. I couldn’t have asked for better company.

Cast, Snag, Rig, Repeat.

Instead of making a New Year’s resolution to get fit, or to make more family time, make the change. I don’t think that any person should quantify how much to improve themselves. I have been trying to learn as many new things as possible. The past year I have learned  even more about photography, fly fishing, skiing, backpacking, climbing, marketing, and myself than I could have imagined. The list goes on and on.

My New Year’s resolution is to make every day count. There are many places that I want to travel to. I am going to add more priceless memories to the bank with my family and loved ones. I look forward to all of the amazing new people that I will meet in 2012, and the relationships that I will make. Dream big and do what you have always wanted to.

“My mother said to me, “If you are a soldier, you will become a general. If you are a monk, you will become the Pope.” Instead, I was a painter, and became Picasso.”

Respond to New Year’s Resolutions: Why Wait?

Leave a comment